Tannins, sweetening, Campden and Bottling Qs

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ZAF

Junior
Reaction score
Hi, I am a newbie to the WMT and to wine making.
Such a wonderful forum I have been reading it for sometime now learning a lot from many of you.

I am in the process of making my second batch of wine from grape juice. The first one was a test.
Currently I am fermenting 3L of red grape juice in 1 gallon carboy + airlock (everything was sterilized with campden). I have not added any tannins yet. Fermentation was started on May 22 and the bubbling has slowed down a lot but still going. My question to the group is
1- Is it ok to add tannins when I rack after the fermentation has stopped (I am planning to use Tea rather than Tannin powder)?
2- When I am ready to bottle what are the steps that you do in relation to sweetening and pre-bottling campden?
The first batch (the test) I crushed the campden, put it the in wine carboy. mixed the wine, and then bottled it. I noticed after bottling that lots of sediments went into the bottle (although it was pretty clear pre bottling photo attached). I think it happened because i stirred the wine after the campden immediately pre-bottling.
So I was wondering what is the best way to add the campden? I have read a few ideas:
- Crushed campden, in the bottle then transfer the wine to it
- Crushed campden, into the carboy, stir, air lock for 24-48h then bottle
- Crushed campden and just drop it at the surface of the wine in the carboy and don't stir, then bottle 12-24h afterwards
- Crushed campden dissolve it into water then pour it into the carboy then bottle

3- In terms of sweetening pre bottling using dissolved sugar in water, if I wanted to sweeten, how do I go about in relation to the timing of the pre-bottling campden application?