Sweeter wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
So I started a merlot last night and it's my first project pretty exited!!! I do however want it to be a bit sweeter and have a strong wood barrel taste any suggestions???? All help is super super appreciated.

As a home wine maker I don’t have the tools to effectively stop a fermentation. Mostly I give up and add sugar back to get target flavor, , after adding metabisulphite.
Industry folks can filter using a 0.5 micron absolute cut off, at $100 per cartridge it makes expensive wine.

So I started a merlot last night and it's my first project pretty exited!!! I do however want it to be a bit sweeter and have a strong wood barrel taste any suggestions???? All help is super super appreciated.

To get a sweet wine, go ahead and make the wine per your kit instructions. Once your wine has been racked a couple of times and it’s clearing, hit it with a dose of potassium sorbate in conjunction with a potassium metabisulfite, this will prevent fermentation from starting back up when you add sugar to sweeten it. Sweeten the merlot to your liking and add some sort of oak (assuming you don’t have a barrel) to the carboy. You can use spirals or cubes pretty effectively in a carboy. Taste periodically until the oak flavor is to your liking.