RJ Spagnols Super Tuscan...My first RJS kit

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I have been making WinExpert kits (mostly Eclipse for the past several years) for 15 years. Recently, one of my retailers had a bunch of price increases, and the other, while he held the line on price for a while, switched to RJS products because of price and other things. I have noticed a reduction in the quality of customer service from WinExpert since the reorganization.
Anyway, I am making my first RJS kit today. I have noticed the following similarities and differences immediately:
-the instructions are similar to the old Eclipse set.
-the juice is less aromatic.
-the grapeskins are packaged differently, and are runnier like the older "selection with grapeskins" packs and are very aromatic.
-the bentonite stirs in much easier.
-there are less grapeskins by weight.
The initial (B4 adding grapeskins) SG is higher.
after adding and squeezing the grapepack, the SG is about the same
There are no oak cubes, or powder, only chips.
So my question is, do you think RJS enpremeur/winery series kits are as good as WE Eclipse kits?
I do have a Bravado and a Forza in my basement for eventual comparison, but I can't wait to hear your opinions.

I have been making WinExpert kits (mostly Eclipse for the past several years) for 15 years. Recently, one of my retailers had a bunch of price increases, and the other, while he held the line on price for a while, switched to RJS products because of price and other things. I have noticed a reduction in the quality of customer service from WinExpert since the reorganization.
Anyway, I am making my first RJS kit today. I have noticed the following similarities and differences immediately:
-the instructions are similar to the old Eclipse set.
-the juice is less aromatic.