strawberry wine s.g. after sweetening

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mersydo

Junior
Reaction score
i made a batch of strawberry wine about 6 months ago. i bottled the first 3 gallons a week ago, but decided to backsweeten the last 2 gallons before bottling it. i put in the sorbate ( 1 teaspoon ) and camden tablets ( 2 ) after crushing-about 3 days ago. the s.g. at this point was .990. then i added the dissolved syrup mix ( 2cups boiling water and 4 cups sugar )-this was done yesterday. i checked today and the s.g. was up to 1.012. is this normal?? for some reason i thought by adding the sorbate then there would be no change in the s.g.

any suggestions/answers will be greatly appreciated.

Anytime you add sugar the GS will go up. I'm no expert but at the SG1.012 I think your wine will be sweet. If the sweetness is to your liking remember the GS and you can use that as reference to sweeten in the future.

Last edited:
The addition of sorbate does not prohibit the SG from raising. Sorbate prevents yeast from re-fermentation.

The addition of sugars, syrup, juice, etc - will either raise/lower your SG.

I like to add my sugar to taste. you can also use simple sryup. and yes sugar will affect your sg readings.

The addition of sorbate does not prohibit the SG from raising. Sorbate prevents yeast from re-fermentation.

Sorbate prevents yeasts from "budding" reproducing. If you had any yeasts that had survived (lay dormant) and you added sugar they may begin to start fermentation again. Even if you added sorbate those living could thrive until they die but would not be able to breed.

Normally the lack of nutrients, sugar and oxygen along with the alcohol will cause the yeasts to perrish.