Strawberry Wine 2016

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

davemo

Reaction score
I just got done mixing up my strawberry wine for 2016. It consisted of 18lbs. thawed strawberry's from some Amish folks i know of, in 3 gallons of water with 1.5 tsp pectic enzyme,3 TBS liquid tannin,1 tsp citric acid and 3/16 tsp k meta . I will let it set for 24 hrs then pitch some vintners harvest cy17 yeast(new yeast for me) along with 3 tsp of fermax yeast nutrient. Any comments or suggestions . This is my first time using a vintners harvest yeast i may switch over to them if i have good results. Havent decided how much sugar yet prolly to 15%abv

My berries are picked and in the freezer. Havn't decided what to do with them yet, guess I didn't even weigh them. Still pickin and pittin cherries. When I get done with them will probably get started fermenting things down. Arne.

Been drinking my blackberry from last yr .Its the best i have made in 5+ yrs of learning this art. I have a bumper crop of blackberries this yr so may make 5 gal instead of 1

WAY too little fruit for 3 gallons of water. If you want to make excellent strawberry wine, use no water.

I just got done mixing up my strawberry wine for 2016. It consisted of 18lbs. thawed strawberry's from some Amish folks i know of, in 3 gallons of water ...

Sounds great! 6 pounds is a good amount. There are a lot seem to think that a wine has to bowl you over and should have no water added at all. That's sorta like the 3 patties of meat on a burger crew. WHY?

The problem with that is a lot of the fruits we are talking about on the country fruit wine forum have much more flavor per pound than grapes. The water content of strawberries, blackberries, raspberries and blueberries is so much lower than the average grape.

You are on the right track - ignore the nay-sayers.