Sparkolloid amount for 3 gallon

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stevelaz

Reaction score
My 3 gallon batch of skeeter pee is not clearing pretty well with the duelfine i used. I am going to rack and try sparkolloid for first time .. Directions on bottle say:

"Dissolve 1 tbspn in one cup of boiling water for 5 min. Add mixture to 6 gallons of wine".

Should i make this mixture and then just add half the mixture, or, should i cut the instructions in half from the start, or, add the whole mixture for 6 gallons?

Is it hazy? It might need Pectic Enzyme rather than Sparkolloid. I find Dualfine blows Sparkolloid out of the water to the point I do not use it anymore. (besides the fact that it keeps dropping stuff for months and Dualfine takes days)

Now that you mention it, maybe it is haze! Im not quit sure since this is my first attempt at skeeter pee... Its been 2 weeks since adding the duelfine... Here are a couple pics at different angles. As you can see the pee in the smaller bottle is very clear but the one in the 3 gallon carboy not so... they are both the same batch...What you think?

Skeeter Pee2.JPG

Skeeter Pee.JPG

That looks like a pectin enzyme candidate to me. (though I've never made Skeeter Pee) Did you add the pectin enzyme during the process? It's specifically to breakdown pectin in fresh fruit which causes hazy wine like that.

I had to double dose my Pineapple, Mango, Lime wine and my second batch of Dragon's Blood.

No, i did not add pectic enzyme since the recipe did not call for it... I did add it to my dragon blood and that cleared great...

The clearing after pectin can take a bit of time. (longer than dualfine) I believe I had one clear in about a week. The other took a bit longer.

So are you suggesting i add the pectic enzyme at this point?