WineXpert Spanish Tempranillo w/grapeskins

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
This is my first attempt at a grapeskin kit in 10 years of kit winemaking. I'm quite sure I followed the directions carefully, making the kit to 23 litres, then adding the grapeskins. When I racked into the carboy today, not all of the wine would fit with about a cup of wine leftover. Is this typical of this style of kit, or was I a little overzealous emptying the primary?

Your carboy runneth over

:slp Losing a couple lines, no big deal in the overall scheme of things what you get ready to wreck out grape skins and I haven't even greater volume makeup ,racket down a 5 gallon carboy this will give you some left for topping over............:mny

:slp Losing a couple lines, no big deal in the overall scheme of things what you get ready to wreck out grape skins and I haven't even greater volume makeup ,racket down a 5 gallon carboy this will give you some left for topping over............:mny
wineh:

I'm not sure what joeswine just said. Let me know if you figure it out.

The normal problem is not enough wine for the carboy, so you're in good shape. Can you keep the extra (to use to top-up later on) in a bottle preferably under air-lock. Said, knowing you probably don't have a small bung).

Steve

wineh:

I'm not sure what joeswine just said. Let me know if you figure it out.

The normal problem is not enough wine for the carboy, so you're in good shape. Can you keep the extra (to use to top-up later on) in a bottle preferably under air-lock. Said, knowing you probably don't have a small bung).

Steve

If you have an universal bung,
universal-bung.jpg
you can flip it over and it fits over the top of a regular wine bottle.