Southeast Kansas vineyard

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ivywoods

Reaction score
Fruitland vineyard.jpg
We recently purchased this place with a small vineyard. It's hard to tell from the picture but a number of the vines are dead and the live ones have wayward growth stretching 20-30 feet along the wire. I will be replace a number of them. What is left is most likely concord.
I've spent the last few months studying pruning, talking with a mentor, and deciding what varieties I want to plant. I want to add a white and a red wine grape as well as a multipurpose red such as reliance. I think I've finally decided. After studying trying different wines I've decided I want "Pink Pearl" for a red and "Traminette" for a white. I am enjoying a glass of traminette right now. It is wonderful! I'm not a professional when it comes to wine, but I have a pretty good idea of what I like and over the last few months have tried to expand my experience. I'm super excited to get started!

And yes, I know those trees at the back have to go. They are not a desirable variety, anyway, and the rest of the yard is well wooded with pecan and other trees.

Wow that is awesome. I planted 10 Reliance 2 years ago. Anxiously waiting for the payoff.

Do you mind if I what part of Kansas is your location? I'm in SE Kansas.

Hi, I'm an hour west of Wichita. Nice to meet another Kansan! Not sure where you are from Mulvane but Wyldewood Cellars Winery is a awesome tour when they do them. :h

I've been out that way many times. It's a little drier there than here. That's probably a good thing for a vineyard. My little vineyard is not on a slope and I'm wondering if the ground is too wet for a good part of the year. I guess you just never know about the weather around here!

View attachment 72881