So , first time wine.

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BostonJoey

Junior
Reaction score
Hello. I'm new to this. I've read up on it a good bit. Here's what I got going on I'm looking for some comments.
I bought a house last year and it has 2 huge fig trees. We are at the tail end of our first harvest.
I had canned alk the figs I wanted to and didn't want the rest to just go to waist si I started to try making wine.
I have 2 separate 5 gallon buckets full
First bucket I took about 3 gallons of figs and put them in a pressure cooker added about 3 cups of sugar. I let that boil for about an hour.
I dumped it in a 5 gallon bucket and filled rest of the way with boiling water. Cooled some and added yeast and an ounce of vodka. Topped the bucket and cut a small square out the top of it and covered with medical tape. It's bubbling.
2nd bucket. It's been raining a good bit so I went out and got another 5 gallon bucket filled with figs. They were pretty heavy with water. And I was felling pretty lazy from the ladder work getting the figs. So I went to bed doing nothing with the figs. By the next day figs have settled some and was almost completely filled with liquid and was fermenting . So I covered the bucket as was with tinfoil it's now bubbling like a soda. Top layer of figs is kinda gross. but it looks decent under top layer.
I'm asking for s0me advice because I haven't seen much abiut making a wine type beverage from figs. Any responses / advice is welcome.

Last edited:
Well, the first piece of advice is to buy a hydrometer (about $5) at you local home-brew store (LHBS). This will tell you how much starting sugar you have (and therefore, how alcoholic the final result may turn out to be). More importantly, it will allow you to monitor the progress of the fermentation.