Short term storage.

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cosyden

Supporting Members
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I’m very new to all this so please excuse me if I’m on the wrong path here.

I’ve got the chance of a load of new food safe 5ltr plastic jerry cans. Is any one using similar for storage (short or medium term). I’m building up my equipment but there’s a good chance I’ll be making wine quicker than I have storage for.

As a point aside, I’m also wondering how long the wine would stay fresh in one once the first glass is taken. Would it be a day, a couple of days, a week etc? We go away in the camper van a fair bit. I’m thinking I could use these Jerry cans in the camper but it would take us at least a week to drink 5ltrs.

Thanks.

Very much depends on temperature. Have you seen the vacuvin bottle stoppers? They come with a pump handle, a check valve in the stopper allows a vacuum to be pulled on the bottle. Can you rig up a rubber stopper, maybe a universal stopper, to allow using the vacuvin? It might give you a few more days.

I use the grolsch flip top bottles for half of my batches of skeeter pee and dragon blood. Seems a waste to use a bottle and cork for just a month or two or three.

I also save and use plastic soda bottles for my hard seltzer. Haven't used for wine, though.

There's also collapsible water bottles. Perhaps that's an option for your trips.

As far as how long it will last once opened? I've never had an opened bottle last more than 2 evenings so I don't know.

The first question is what type of plastic is the Gerry can made out of?