several problems - need some advice please :-)

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thombelli

Junior
Reaction score
I have a few questions which I hope will start (and will appreciate!) some lively discussion and help me with a couple of problems I'm seeing.

Some background. I've been making (mainly floral based) wine for several years, and more recently in larger quantitites (5 gallon batches). My main source of flowers is from foraging (gorse flower, elderflower, hawthorn) and any fruit also in the same way. I usually freeze the flowers or fruit and use from frozen but have used fresh also and see very little difference. I usually start with an SG of 1.095 which will give me approx 13% wine assuming fermenting to an SG of 1. I use Youngs Active yeast - 1 teaspoon per gallon (though have tried others with no differences seen) and just normal sugar.

Here are my questions:

1. I've always had a problem with the amount of time it takes from start to finish. It can take 6 months at least to have the SG at 1. is there any basic thing I can do to speed up the process?

2. Related to 1/ I've seen big variations in the time taken between different kinds of wine. I have two possibly hypotheses: a/ the type of flower or fruit being used affects the time taken b/ the amount of flower/fruit being used affects the time taken. The second hypothesis in particular is interesting as when I upped the amount of flower being used for one batch, it sped up considerably. Could this be because there is less contact with air by the yeast?

3. By bottling at SGs of over 1 (for example 1.010), what is the risk of re-fermentation and what is the best way to minimise this risk? Is adding campden and potassium sulphite a sure-fire way of ending the fermentation process or is there are a better way of minimising this risk?