Sediment during bottling

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm fairly new to the home wine making process. Yesterday I bottled my 3rd kit, a malbec. Wine I got to the end of filling the bottles, I realized I forgot to put the small cap on the bottom of my suction tube and saw some sediment had been sucked up during the bottling process. Should I empty all the bottles back into the carboy and let the wine clear again? I don't want to have a bunch of bottles with sediment in them. My gut is telling me I should but wanted to ask anyway! Thanks in advance!!

I'm fairly new to the home wine making process. Yesterday I bottled my 3rd kit, a malbec. Wine I got to the end of filling the bottles, I realized I forgot to put the small cap on the bottom of my suction tube and saw some sediment had been sucked up during the bottling process. Should I empty all the bottles back into the carboy and let the wine clear again? I don't want to have a bunch of bottles with sediment in them. My gut is telling me I should but wanted to ask anyway! Thanks in advance!!
It is your call. The sediment will always be there and it wont go away by itself. On the other hand, other than aesthetics, a little sediment will not spoil the taste of your wine to any great degree. If it were I, I would keep it as it is and carefully decant the wine before drinking. You will lose a little wine in decanting, but save a lot of time and expense.

If you can’t tolerate the sediment, then yes, you should. If you can tolerate it, then let it slide.

Big lesson isn‘t about remembering the sediment cap on your racking cane. ALWAYS rack off of sediment to a new carboy before bottling, then there isn’t any sediment to mistakenly get into your wine.