WineXpert Secondary Fermentation

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Billaban

Reaction score
Greetings,

1st batch is fermenting. Been vigorously fermenting for 5 days and continues as I type. I'm doing a double batch of a WE Chianti kits. Instructions suggest that you start checking SG after 5 days in order to decant for secondary etc...

I have been brewing for many years and looking at how vigorously the airlock is churning out CO2 (at least for beer) there is no why primary fermentation is over.

My thinking is until the fevered pitch of fermentation starts to wain there is no reason to touch this batch.

Thoughts?

You are correct. Let it slow down and check it with a hydrometer. Some folks move to secondary around (1.010) some ferment to dry (1.000 to .990) in primary me being one .

Do what your kit says...a lot of people here move to secondary at 1.010 are 1.000...I let mine go dry .990 are better in the primary before i move.
There is many articles on fermenting, I would suggest you read some, and then kinda decide what you think is the correct way for you....
As i said..some move before its dry in the primary
some move after its dry in the primary.

Hi Billabong,

Welcome to WineMakingTalk. Like REDBOATNY stated, you are doing fine. Yes some will ferment dry in the carboy, you need to snap the lid down when you get to around 1.010 - 1.000, and add an airlock. The reason for this is to prevent oxidation from setting in. Others will transfer to carboy around those readings. My suggestion is to do what the kit instructions tell you.

Mistaken Identity

Hi Billabong,

That (Billabong) must be someone else.:)

FWIW - I am doing primary ferm in one of the 13g carboys that I have....with an airlock. Oxidation should not be an issue.