Secondary fermentation panic

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Banksy

Junior
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm very new to wine making and have bought a 30 bottle kit and a 30 bottle fermenting starter kit with a 30l bucket with an airlock and bung and a 25l fermenter with an airlock also. Using the kits instructions it suggests when the hydrometer reading gets to 10. 010 you can transfer into a secondary fermenter or not. It suggested not to as fermentation is sped up with the kits yeast but I chose to change to a secondary fermenter as per a friend's advice . Fermentation continued for a couple of days until the air look wasn't showing activity so I took 3 consecutive reads at 0.995. I've started the stabalisation but I'm getting quite anxious that I've done something wrong. So many people advise so many things. My friend thinks I've done it wrong as it should have been in the secondary fermenter for weeks before it was finished but it was only a few days. I tasted the wine and it seemed to be OK

Should I carry on with the stabalisation period and clearing? Can someone also advise if I should bottle straight away or not. It gets really confusing when people advise to bulk age etc. I also don't have access to demijohns or carboys.

I don't know if the kit I'm using is correct but it's sent my anxiety flaring when reading about people fermenting for months and racking several times.

If I've not made sense just ask me to clarify anything and ill do my best.

Thanks!