Safe to bottle?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mohawk

Junior
Reaction score
I made about a 6 gallon batch of rhubarb wine, It's my first attempt a wine making from raw materials.

I used 20 pounds frozen rhubarb, clean, shopped, frozen then thawed, mashed.
12 pounds of sugar
enough water to reach the rising part of a large carboy(5 or 7 gal I think)
1 packet wine yeast.

I started the batch about 4 weeks ago, I pulled a sample with a thief and it tastes extremely good. It's still fermenting a little. Because it is fermenting there is a little bit of a fizz in the wine I sampled which I actually enjoy.

I transferred the wine to a 2nd carboy to separate it from the solids.
The fermentation processes is going slow, I have to really look at the 1 way valve to see it moving.

my question is, when do I know it's safe to bottle without blowing up a bottle? Are there methods to test this?

Thanks

Hello Mohawk and welcome to the forum,

Rhubarb takes a long time to ferment out in my experience.. it also takes quite a bit of degassing before bottling.

do you have a hydrometer to test the specific gravity of your wine?

Allie

Thank you:)

I do have hydrometer that came with my kit, is there a set number that shows where it should be at before bottling?

You'll be looking for the reading to be under 1.000.. and if the wine is very gassy it will make the hydrometer ride 'high' and throw the reading off.

often the airlock will still be producing bubbles.. even when the wine is finished.. due to really high c02 levels trapped in it. You are going to have to stir it!.. be gentle or you'll have a volcanic foam explosion. See whether it releases a lot of gas.. think shaking a bottle of coke.. ( ok you have been warned!)

hehhe