Revisiting the sediment issue with kit wines

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

katmike57

Junior
Reaction score
Hello, this is my first post here but I've been following for some time.

I've been making wine from kits for about 2 years now and have been mostly pleased with the results. I've more recently done some high-end kits like WE Private Res (Amarone, Bordeaux, Fiero, Nebbiolo). I have some RJS En Premeur kits in process and one Cru Select (Sangiovese). I'm convinced that even if you follow directions to the letter and bottle at the 6-8 week mark, you're going to have sediment problems, especially the reds. Am I right?

The answer is probably obvious - perhaps rack more often and/or wait a longer period of time to bottle. But, I've read where cold might help in getting the solids to fall out, so if I transfer to bottling bucket and let sit in the fridge about 3 days before bottlng, is that going to help much?

Last edited:
I wouldn't recommend that, sitting at cold temperature in the bottling bucket would allow significant oxygen to dissolve into the wine. If you really want to store cold, then a topped up carboy would be a better choice and it may take more than a few days for sediment to fall out, for tartrates to fall out maybe two weeks.

If you don't want to filter your kit wines, my experience is that a couple of extra rackings and a 90 day process seems to work.
As for cold stabilization, that is a process to remove potassium bitartrates (wine diamonds) from the wine. While considered to be a fault, they are harmless and don't affect the flavour of the wine. I have noticed that this has become less of an issue with kit wines in the last couple of years, and only affects my wines after spending a winter in my cellar (crawl space).