Red wine has no flavor or body

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NCBrewer

Junior
Reaction score
I have been making wine from kits & fresh grapes for about 15 years. I currently have 5 gallons of a DeChaunac grape that I fermented out about 3 months ago. I went to bottle it just before Christmas after I had cold stabilized it. I was very disappointed when I tasted it. It had very little flavor or body. It was fermented with the hulls about 2 weeks and then racked from a plastic fermenter into a glass carboy. I don't think that there is any problem like an infection or anything, just not a very good wine. I had made this grape wine before from the same vineyard and it turned out pretty good. The sugar content was low and I had to add several pounds of sugar to bring it up to 22 brix.

Any suggestions / recommendations of how I can bring some character to this otherwise blah wine? I thought of adding oak chips and dried elderberries but I am not sure this will be enough.

Thanks for any advice,
AB in HR, NC

NCB, What is the current SG of the wine? If it is low, i.e. around 0.995 or less, you could add concentrated juice or an f-pack. It will sweeten the wine somewhat, and it will also improve the flavor and body. I assume you have added potassium metabisulfite and potassium sorbate to the wine, right? Whatever you do, make sure you bench test the addtions before adding them to the entire batch.

3 mos from fresh grapes to bottle is pretty fast....how long did you wait to bottle the first dechaunac wine you made...it may be a time thing here and some time for development may be in order...it could also be the amount or rain last yr greatly affecting things