Red wine color

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

njsnyder

Junior
Reaction score
This is my first year making wine from grapes. Last year i used juice. It turned out ok

This year my Cab Sav grapes i crushed about 112lbs- 7 gallons. I checked sugar and acid levels and balanced them before fermentation. Fermentation completed in a week to around 0.996. I wanted more tannin and complexity so i left the must sit for another 1.5 weeks. I have sealed 35 gallon tanks and i covered the must with argon after fermentation was complete.

So last week i pressed the grapes. Despite this my color is light red. not as dark as i would expect. taste seems fine. Can i correct just with grape skin extract? im a little disappointed.

My old vin zin/petite verdot/ cab franc all are dark. same process.

So last week i pressed the grapes. Despite this my color is light red. not as dark as i would expect. taste seems fine. Can i correct just with grape skin extract? im a little disappointed.
From what I've read, the grape skin extract works, and the color is usually stable. If the color disappoints you, it's a reasonable option.

Another option is to blend in some Petit Verdot -- this is a fairly common recommendation on this forum. In addition to providing color, it will increase complexity.

The big question is: What does the Cabernet Sauvignon smell and taste like? If it's good as a very green wine, count your blessings!

My 2019 Merlot and Zinfandel were both initially lighter than I liked, although the color has darkened a bit in the bottle. In hindsight, I'm not fussed about the color as both taste and smell good. Of all the things I could be unhappy about, the color is the least thing. At this point I'm satisfied with the Merlot:

merlot.jpg

For comparison, this is my 2020 Meritage blend:

Meritage.jpg