Raspberry Mead Inquiry

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HoWDa13

Junior
Reaction score
Hello all,
I'm new to this whole schtick, and was looking for some pointers. I've only made a few batches of mead, one being blueberry and the other peach. The blueberry came out relatively dry and flavorless, but the peach came out quite nice.
However, I'm looking for a decent method/recipe for sweet raspberry mead. Would it be better to make a sweet mead first, and then back-sweeten it with raspberries and honey? Or should I ferment it with raspberries in the must? Any help is greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance.

My simple answer is ferment berries and all. Ferment dry with a target abv 12% sweeten with honey after stabilizing. Id use 71b yeast
Raspberries have had the most flavor carry over of anything ive done.
What yeast are you using. What fruit per gallon amounts.
Welcome

My simple answer is ferment berries and all. Ferment dry with a target abv 12% sweeten with honey after stabilizing. Id use 71b yeast
Raspberries have had the most flavor carry over of anything ive done.
What yeast are you using. What fruit per gallon amounts.
Welcome
I've changed my yeast for each one, trying to find a decent one. The last one I used was a red wine yeast, cant remember the strain. And as for fruit amounts, that's kind of what I'm asking. I'm not sure what amounts get the best flavor out, or if I should mash them, leave them whole, etc.

Check the recipe forum.
Guys here will tell you anywhere from 2 lbs per gallon too only enough water to say its wet and dissolve sugar.
For raspberries 3 to 5 lbs per gallon. Freeze them first, strain them out after first week
Lavin 71b yeast.

Thanks for the advice! I'll definitely give 71b a try. I'm thinking of using about 3-4 pounds of honey per gallon, and letting the yeast burn itself out.