Ramp Wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cracked Cork

Reaction score
This post is especially for Ramona in WV and anyone else that has had or heard of a ramp, cousin to the wild garlic and onion that grows in WV and also has a festival of the ramp in WV. Kirkwood winery makes and sells a ramp wine, tried some today at a winetasting, lets say it interesting. Took home a bottle of their elderberry, mountain blueberry and raspberry, all very good!

Appalachian
Ramp Wine at http://www.kirkwood-wine.com/winelist.html .

Crackedcork
</span>

I got some 'Wild Garlic' from Tennessee that a friend dug from ditches there....It is smaller than most and very strong....I have been growing it for a few years now...It is the strongest of the garlics I grow.

Is it related to the Ramp plant????

http://www.kirkwood-wine.com/winelist.html

They sure have an interesting winelist.

NW, I have no idea about the relationship between the wild onions, but they are all good. I took the flower tops off of some of our wild garlic, chopped them up and tossed them into a venison salad, paired with an elderberry wine, I certainly dont deserve to eat like that!

As far as Kirkwood wines go, I have no connection etc, they were at a mountain heritage show this weekend showing their WV wines. We are drinking their blueberry right now, its a little bit better than my best blueberry, in other words damn good :)

Crackedcork

Cracked,

I was wondering about the ramps. I'll bet that is an interesting wine. Have you seen the recipe for it?