Question regarding sulphites

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RobertChartier

Reaction score
Hey all,
I am still pretty new to Winemaking, and have a question on sulfites.

I have a friend that would love to drink wine, if only she didn't have that pesky sulfite allergy.

Is there an alternative to using sodium or potassium metabisulfate?

Last edited:
Robert, you will get a number of responses to this question ranging from "you don't need sulfites at all" to "sulfites are sine qua non" for good wine. They are, of course, a protector from oxidation so the question is, what other ways can wine be protected from oxidation? If you are careful and minimize exposure to air when bottling, used good corking procedures, store the wine in close to ideal conditions (55 degrees, 75% RH, no exposure to UV light or vibration) you will probably be safe in not using sulfites. I would suggest another tact. When you make a batch, take out a gallon or so and bottle it without sulfites (noting the caveats above) for your friend and then sulfite the remainder for general use.

Good luck.

I have yet another tack to suggest, but I am not sure it if is wise to try it!

How sure are you that she is allergic to sulfites? Many people report that they are, but it is actually pretty rare. (Of course, "rare" does not mean "non-existent.") Also, how serious is it?

My suggestion is to make a solution of water and k-meta that is the approximate strength of sulfited wine (50 ppm or so). With her consent, of course, have her try a few sips of this solution.

Back to the OP, yes there is an alternative.

1.) Be scrupulously and fastidiously clean and sanitary in all you do, to the extent of megalomania.

2.) Make wines of greater than 10% alcohol content.

3.) Be extremely cautious about oxygen contact with your wines.