Punching Down Country Wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KevinAZ

Junior
Reaction score
Hi Vintners,

I just started my first country wine (Prickly Pear) yesterday. I've got my raisins and my fruit in a mesh bag and it looks like for whatever reason the bag is keeping the fruit about 95% below the surface. There's really just a couple of little mesh "bubbles" sticking up. Would I be able to skip punching down? Or is it better just to do it and be safe rather than sorry? I'm really new to this and just don't want to introduce too much oxygen in the mix.

Now that I'm thinking about this question more, I am remembering that the bubbles from the fermentation could raise up the fruit. Is that right? So punch down and just try to be too violent about it to keep the oxygen at bay?

Thanks,
Kevin

Welcome to WMT!

Yeast need oxygen at the beginning, so no worries about introducing oxygen at this point. Many of us use a food grade bucket with a towel over it (to keep out any bugs) for the primary fermentation. This makes it easier to stir and punch down every day or even a couple times a day.

I typically rack to a carboy and use an airlock after the s.g. gets down to 1.010 or below. Sometimes if the fermentation is quick, it ferments all the way to dry before I put it under airlock. It's still releasing enough CO2 for a while to protect it from O2, even after fermentation is complete.

Hope this helps!