pruning this spring

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jandrew156

Junior
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this but trying my best on a small vineyard... I had a lot of growth last year but wanted to see what should be pruned....can anyone suggest on my attached pic?
Should I cut back to one main trunk or let it go in both directions?
This will be the 4th season for these...i know should be bigger but I had some major setbacks!

Thanks in advance for any advice!

sDK2WpFB9RZf_NC_SWu7lRfG5vUTIQWU621z4SqNg8uFVfJjZeo74B_TTdeRU4Mg_y12IAa24FRPpkBT-FqWE6J4hrfN6Beuq_a5DbO9T4ayDrt80H81d7K9h0aO5Uglwl4T3lXiPKQjQ-ygU71NNm39WGlAtO5_R7y3nnCOaJoM3t4tNo5xSUhDixQrQ5jsXN7pHSZvNXYrp2F6B5THDLBkfCHNLHH-pgz31GL6h_RvO4w-VVcal-Uc7uaR3r3VfskfER9xxq1pnuqv27zFFQYHPT8_wlQ37NkuWATQb2L1En6fO0FG2dfo5aEyBMnwRAya12yt8ePZiaxyqlZavSVJCN7Hq2d6fL-RW3nqEEhUTsCnNARysyGA9NmSVa4fti5rDTAhfNHfpwdgHe9Uv5-idmHTH2HyAYrmY9bjP1l3LLmBuKyaz-kkJcj3aZV6pSijB4v2lmCqy0s2RwKgK9rn7Yp_PAAaD2AElsqDJwMfm6xdJCuK2IZXkWPbe2IsDrNs0WzcazxOmII_8IzpVSDoiPqumR6KYqQUtbww4XgdFnuytJn5Hx5CjZuMGQLfRn4kFOBR24ULJfH0fhinUiiDSKMb0iTYhQ357L4BZb-B81ij3FJrkxKv2xnSYqEV2NSTdfb6tX7RjK76p_buWNWyJvwEJBk=w1112-h625-no

'tis the season. I'm looking forward to getting started on pruning mine in a few weeks. I find it to be rather fun.

A few questions: What variety are these? What type of trellis system are you looking to have? That will help the good folks here get going on recommendations.

thanks for the response...
The vine shown in the pic is Concord, but I also have Catawba and Niagra. It's hard to see in the pic but there are two wires, I have a top wire cordon setup.