Prickly Pear Wine Recipe Help

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

phear

Junior
Reaction score
Hello,

I've been reading through every thread in these forums concerning prickly pear wine, but haven't found an adequate answer to the question(s) I have. This is my first attempt at making a wine myself (i.e. not a prefab kit), but I have some semblance of what is going on. The recipe that has caught my attention the most is this: http://www.winemakingtalk.com/forum/f45/prickly-pear-cactus-wine-33279/

It appears to me that the recipe makes a 1gal. batch, but I'm currently sitting on > 12gal of frozen juice, so I wanted to scale the recipe to make a 5gal. batch since I have the brewing materials available for that. Scaling that up though is 15-20lbs of honey, which is a lot of money to put out for local honey (Texas). Could I substitute sugar instead, or perhaps more prickly pear juice? If I scale this up do I also have to scale up the packets of yeast that I would add?

Otherwise, I'm not opposed to making Jack Keller's recipe, but I'm not exactly sure how much juice 5-6lbs of prickly pear makes, so scaling that recipe seems daunting to me. Especially since he just states to put in wine yeast and nutrient without quantifying. Also, is the water really neccessary? Wouldn't just adding more juice increase the flavor, or is there some other purpose for adding the water?

I appreciate any help I can get, because I'm getting a little discouraged searching for a solution with adequate explanation...

I just juiced another 2 gallons of prickly pear juice tonight.

Tomorrow I will probably collect another 40 lbs to bring my total amount of juice to 5 gallons or so.
I will be doing a modified recipe copied from another poster here that is almost all juice, with a few cans of white grape juice concentrate.