Poison cactus pear wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ken Paw Paw

Junior
Reaction score
I’m new to this so I wanted to post what happened when I made wine out of cactus pear tunas. Typical Texas West Central prickly pear.
I used a large hole grinder to mash the fruit.
I then boiled and strained the juice out.
Beautiful red color smelling of honey.
Using septic techniques I started the wine in five gallon plastic carboys.
Five campdon crushed in each, pectin enzyme, yeast nutrient, as per instructions. Added the yeast and kept at 75* in primary until fermentation was mostly completed. Racked into glass carboys with air lock for a couple more weeks then decided to taste it....
Big Mistake- I drank about four ozs. It had a wonderful smell and taste.
That night I had fever, chills and sever muscle aches in my upper and lower back. This lasted two days.
I recently had a flue shot and blamed it on it.
Another Big Mistake- week or so later I tried another 4 ozs to see how my wine was doing.
Same thing happened.
For what ever reason this stuff is poison.
Has anyone had similar experiences with cactus wine? Using the same preparation I made watermelon wine and it’s great but needs to age.
Need a little help here please

hum, recon you're allergic to them, old timers made jams & jellies from them, the pads could be boiled for a nutritious juice, the leaf pars are a diuretic filled with anti-oxidants and anti-inflammatory, the fruit is red or purplish, did you burn off the spines with fire , the small ones the larger ones you scrapes off with a knife, now as to ferment or alcohol i have not a clue,,,
Dawg