Pét-Nat Sparkling Wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Trick

Reaction score
Just wondering if anyone here has experience in making Pét-Nat Sparkling Wine at home?

I have a few 450 mL kombucha bottles I used to make sparking Kombucha last summer and can be usable for sparking wine making.

Just saw some introduction of Pét-Nat (Natural sparking wine, which doesn't finish primary fermentation before bottling). It sounds very simple without worrying about the disgorging. I would like to try a batch with 1 gal batch of a hard cider.

Any recommendations? Thanks.

Just tried a 5 gallon batch of Seyval, Bottled the other day at 1.01. I'm new to this so have no idea how it will turn out. Letting it sit for a couple of weeks then will open a bottle and see what happened.

Just tried a 5 gallon batch of Seyval, Bottled the other day at 1.01. I'm new to this so have no idea how it will turn out. Letting it sit for a couple of weeks then will open a bottle and see what happened.
Pet-Nat is the easiest way to make sparkling. I did my first test batch a couple of weeks ago. The carbonation works. I bottled at SG=1.005, which is about 1.3 brix and at the end, I found it is hard to open the bottle. I guess SG 1.01 is too high and can buildup very high pressure.
I will see how it turns out after a couple of months of aging in bottle.
I also cooled down half the batch and let the lees settle a bit before bottling. Just bottled the settled version last weekend with one bottle injected with a low dose of SO2. This is to see the effect of SO2 on the secondary fermentation in bottle.
Temperature is at 20°C for all the bottles.