Quantcast

Oxidized Wine

Wine Making Talk

Help Support Wine Making Talk:

Erin Tipton

Junior
Reaction score
32E169A1-FEA9-473A-B5BE-4665643D1051.jpeg 8C180997-FC76-4DDF-B9EC-384F31DF16CD.jpeg I’m new to win making and didn’t heed the warnings of topping off a bottle!! My small bottle of extra wine oxidized ☹. Luckily my gallon is ok!! Lesson learned!! Always top off the bottle!! I’m tossing it out! See the brown ring on the rim of the wine? See the difference in color? Airlock and bung was tight and holding. Just too much headspace I guess. This was after 1 3/4 months setting.

Last edited:

salcoco

Veteran Wine Maker
WMT Supporter
Reaction score
not so fast. have yu tasted the wine. color difference could be just the jugs being used. if taste is still good keep it.

Erin Tipton

Junior
Reaction score
not so fast. have yu tasted the wine. color difference could be just the jugs being used. if taste is still good keep it.
It didn’t taste as good as the other one. I tried the taste test twice against the other one. It definitely had something going on.

Reaction score
I have never filled my carboys to the top because I lose so much fluid by the time I rack them over and over they are a couple inches or more below the top rim. That being said I rack them after they reach 0.998 into a crushed campden tablet per gallon and then when clear I stabilize and back sweeten before bottling. Mind you and they are fruits such as pears, apples and plums. They taste fine and don't seem to be oxidized.

Erin Tipton

Junior
Reaction score
Have you ever experienced this brown ring in your fruit wine? This is a peach. The gallon carboy doesn’t have it.

Reaction score