Cellar Craft OK, I wished I hadn't done that

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FABulousWines

Le Vigneron Heureux
Reaction score
The Argentine Malbec has been on the Hungarian cubes for two weeks, so I took a taste.
I wished I hadn't done that. IT IS SO GOOD, OMG! A very smooth, smokey flavor, with excellent mouth feel. I don't know how I am going to resist this one, but I must. Even as green as it is, it is better already than some of the commercial malbecs I have tried.

It took all of my will power to keep from picking up the carboy and start chugging away!
I let my wife smell my breath and she said it was very nice, LOL.

I have no experience with oaking so I will have to see where it is next week. If it gets any better than this (and I am lead to believe it will), then I am in big trouble! I am going to have to do one of these every year for sure!

Thanks for letting me share my excitement!

Well the solution is to start another one! And I would leave the oak on for at least 6 weeks. While you are getting a good taste of the oak now, it will fad some.

Thanks Julie, I will do that. I've got Watermelon White Merlot in the carboy clearing now and then I will do a Peach Chardonnay. I also have a Washington Merlot in the queue, so no shortage of kits to do right now. I am going to have to pick up another carboy soon!

I'll defer the next taste for 2 weeks and remove the temptation, but I am thinking I will go 6 weeks before I rack it off.

I don't think you will be sorry. Hungarian oak is my favorite. I use it in my blackberry all the time and six weeks works well.

The kit came with a small amount of medium and light toasted French oak chips in the primary. I definitely noticed the effects of that when racking off to the carboy, but this Hungarian is coming on strong and in a very GOOD way.