Oak toast levels

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tjgaul

Carboy Addict
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I stopped at the local HBS last night to pick up a few supplies and grabbed a bag of dark toast oak chips. I have never used dark before, just medium and light. I thought it would be a good addition to the toolkit for some bolder reds.

The kid (sorry, but anyone under 25 looks like a kid to me at this point) at the counter told me that the extra toasting cooks off most of the flavor of the oak and that the intensity from these chips would be very mild. That seems counter intuitive and totally contradictory to what I've read. Is this guy misinformed or do I not understand the meaning of light, medium, medium+, and dark toasting?

I would probably agree with what you have read. The toasting level doesn't really do much to the oak level, it does bring out different tastes from the oak. I don't use chips very often, too me you get more tannin and less oak flavor from them and they give up what little they have so fast. I generally just add them in my primary fermenter and go with cubes or staves for longer term aging.

The below quote was taken from a Laffort study conducted in 2008.

"The toast level of the wood plays a role in the amount of extractable tannin in oak chips, since phenolic materials in the wood are converted into aromatic compounds during toasting, such as vanillin and guaiacol. It is obvious that for maximum structural contribution a lightly-toasted chip should be used, whilst for maximum aromatic contribution a heavy toast should be used."

I don't like chips for long term aging either. xoakers are my favorite if you don't splurge on the barrel.