Nortons in SW Missouri SG/Brix?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am trying to decide when to pick my first crop of Nortons (Cynthiana). I have no experience in monitoring these grapes (or any others) as they ripen.

On September 19 my refractometer readings were about SG = 1.085; Brix = 20. I have been checking every couple of days since then, and there has been no change over past 10 days.

I was hoping for higher readings, but I am beginning to think they are as ripe as they are going to get. Can anyone say if Nortons produce higher readings than these - sometimes? usually? or always?

Quite a few clusters are showing signs of wrinkled berries, dropped berries, ect. Should I pick now, or hold out for better numbers?

I live in mid-Missouri, outside St. Louis. A few of the grape growers around here have picked Norton already, some have not. Two that I know of had 22 Brix at harvest. But, if you are seeing wrinkled berries and dropped berries, it sounds more about time to pick to me. Have you checked your ph/ta?

Thanks for your helpful reply.

On Sept 15 I picked enough berries to float my hydrometer so I could be sure if I could trust my new refractometer. At that time, my pH was about 3.7, according to Accuvin test strips (range = 3.0-4.0).

I also checked total acid by titration with NaOH and got around 4.5-4.8 as tartaric. However, I have read that Norton/Cythiana must should be pre-heated to 165F before testing, and I did not do that, so my acid number may be low.