Noob just looking for some starter tips on chemicals and anything else i can absorb!

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thywinemaker

Junior
Reaction score
hello im a noob to winemaking and was wondering if i could get a few starter tips here.
i made some killer salmon berry wine and blackberry wine last year with some awsome results but i used no perseritives or chemicals of any kinda and was hoping to get into that this year
i use a a yeast called red star daddy is a Distillers Active Dry yeast(Red Star DADY Yeast 1 lb.)
i bought some potassium metabisulfite , sodium metabisulfite, and potassium sorbate so far but i was told i should look into getting some water ph stuff that brings it to 5.2
also looking at getting some star san sanitation for cleaning. just wondering if there any small tips or items i should be looking at getting will also be getting a hydrometer.
i started pretty jailhouse style but have been improving ever since.

thank you for your time.

Attachments

• 74336216_10157155936415379_4097559419275968512_o.jpg
    74336216_10157155936415379_4097559419275968512_o.jpg
    67.7 KB · Views: 11
Last edited:
Welcome to WMT!

Potassium metabisulfite (known on this forum as "k-meta") is the most important. The sorbate is used if you want to sweeten your wine after fermentation (known on this forum as "backsweetening").

I am not sure what the your reference was speaking of about the pH and 5.2 in particular. Probably they were speaking of either "acid blend" or "tartaric acid."

I like StarSan a lot. Very easy to use. DEFINITELY get yourself a hydrometer. Actually, get two. If you buy one, you will break it. If you buy two, you will not break either one! :)

You are on the right track