Newbie here- Elderberry wine question

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Korgan45

Supporting Members
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hello all, I am making 3 gallons of Elderberry/ blackberry wine. I made one gallon last year and this year I had such a great crop of elderberries and the wine came out really good last year so I increased the quantity. I based it on Danger Daves recipe for DB. Everything is going according to plan except I have a question about the secondary fermentation. I racked the primary into the carboy and it's been 24 hours and there is no sign of bubbling through the airlock. Is this ok or does there definetly have to be bubbles going through it? The SG went from 1.078 to 0.998 in 8 days (3 days consistently 0.998) I strained and removed the gross lees from the primary and then added 1.5 tsp potassium sorbate, 2 Campden tabs and 1/2 tablespoon of Sparkloid, then I degassed and decanted into the carboy. Should I have degassed first before adding the chemicals? I tasted it and it's pretty good but I am concerned there is no secondary fermentation going on. Really appreciate having a place to get advice! I am having alot of fun doing this and will probably be trying more in the future. Thanks !

You should be fine. It’s probably done fermenting so you’re not seeing bubbles. It’s a common practice to rack to secondary when the SG gets to about 1.020, so you let it go a little farther. No big deal.

* potassium sorbate will stop yeast from reproducing, this will minimize the production of CO2
* we are entering the cool part of the year, CO2 is more soluble when cool. Th see gas release you could warm up the carboy.
* my first thought was that the cork wasn’t set tight therefore gas was bypassing the air lock, it is possible but sorbate is more likely.