Newbi from Big Island

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chirata

Reaction score
Aloha all. I am a brand spanking new wine maker. I have been dreaming of this moment for 12 years when I tasted my first glass of Jaboticaba wine. I went out and purchased 2 trees. Finally this past couple of weeks I have harvested enough to make a batch! I have been searching online for a week or so for ideas and today found this forum! I combined ideas from another forum along with this one and the fruit wine making you tubes I've seen and just began my first batch.
I started off with about 16 lbs of fruit and added water to the 4 gallon line in my fermenting bucket. Then added the 4 Camden tablets and added 3 tsp of peptic acid to the mashed up jaboticabas. Now waiting 2 days to remove the pulp before continuing with adding yeast sugar and yeast nutrient
My biggest concern at this moment is my carboy is 6 gallons which I think is too big once I take out the pulp. The local stores here have 5 gallon carboys 3 s on order
availablavailablealthough some 3 gallon one

My biggest concern at

Welcome to the forum.

Hey, get some 3's and several 1 gallon. As you rack and loose some of the wine in the bottom sediment, you can use the 1 gallon to top off the 3, then put whats left in 1.5 liter or 750 ml wine bottles.

robie said:
Welcome to the forum.

Hey, get some 3's and several 1 gallon. As you rack and loose some of the wine in the bottom sediment, you can use the 1 gallon to top off the 3, then put whats left in 1.5 liter or 750 ml wine bottles.

That was my thoughts today too. As I realized one I remove the pulp I won't have the same volume. The local wine store will have some 3 gallo s available in a couple of weeks. Can I go that long in first fermenter after taking out the pulp and skins of the jaboticaba ?

Hi Chirata