Newbe...very confused.

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello. This is my first attempt making wine at home (from frozen concentrated apple juice) Ok, it is 1 gallon batch and I followed an online recipe. Today it has fermented for 6 days and I siphoned it to a new jar and discarded part of its solids and some liquid close to the bottom. Now when I put it back in the gallon jar with the airlock, I notice it needs like 2 inches of liquid to be totally full. I am concerned since I don't know if that amount of air in it will be bad as it continues this second stage of fermentation. Oh I tried it and it had a very nice flavor. 2 questions...do I need to transfer it to a smaller container, top it with anything to fill the void, or just leave it as it is now? Also, how much longer does it need before its ready? Thank you in anticipation!