New wine Maker SG at 1.050 should I bottle?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

crazcudler

In Vino Veritas
Reaction score
So on May 27 I started some wine made from welches 100% White grape peach frozen concentrate and because I didn't know any better at the time I started off with a SG of 1.12 have racked 3 Times and the last 2 times my SG has stayed at 1.005 how much longer should I wait to bottle? The wine is very clear. smells and tastes ok for juice concentrate wine I guess. this was my first batch of wine, so I am new at this :) appreciated your help

If it is not dropping sediment for at least sixty days, is clear (can see newsprint thru carboy) and degassed you can move to bulk aging phase, a good total of six months to a year from pitch date. Personally, for this one I would not consider bottling until at least six months. You can stabilize (sorbate plus k-meta) and sweeten it up if further needed closer to bottling.

Is SG at 1.005 or 1.050?

Last edited:
how much wine you making, and how much sugar did you add when you started. have you calibrated your hydrometer...

good to see you posting again sara

check your hydro reading 3 days in a row..if its the same, your done..rack and wait for clearing as sara said.

1 gal,

Recipe

3 cans concentrate
1 1/4lb sugar
1 tsp pectic enz
1 tsp yeast nutrient
water
yeast 71b-1122

not sure how to calibrate the hydrometer... so no I guess

the sugar level is light, which is why the sg is off...it will not be a very high abv..but it will be wine...thats good.
as sara said....let it clear, then you have the options of 1. bulk aging and bottling, are 2. adding campden are same, and sorbate, back sweeting , clearing and bottling...
how to calibrate your hydrometer is here .
http://www.hambletonbard.com/how-to...a-hydrometer/how-to-calibrate-hydrometer.html