new welding kit advice

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
winemakers are a crafty and versatile group so i wanted to seek some advice.

i want to purchase a welding kit for home shop use, repairs, and different little fabrication projects but my knowledge is extremely limited. When i started to look into this for a “homeowner friendly” type of kit i realized there’s a lot i don’t know.

I am a carpenter by trade. But back when i served my apprenticeship we did have a few welding classes with the oxy/acetylene torch & stick welding. a lot of guys struggled but i picked it up nicely. That’s the extent of my experience. 17 yrs ago.

so if anyone’s familiar with the differences between flux and stick welding, would love to hear your thoughts/recommendations. i don’t care about cutters. i’ll just use saws & grinders for that. But i would like to be able to weld multiple types of metal, stainless steel included.

Not a welder but brazing (with a torch) is generally not as useful as welding. Oxy/acetylene is super useful for cutting and heating things but stick welding is the way to go. 8011 rods are the general purpose go to (I think I have the number right). That said I have used a mig welder lately and that might be the way to go for a diyer. Also plasma cutter is on my wish list and might be used instead of a torch tho I don't have any experience with one.

Funny story. My dad is a millwright. At his brothers funeral his small talk revolved around not understanding how people could live without a welder. His somewhat stylish sister took a look at his shoes, which were dirty, and said I don't know how anyone could live without a shoe brush. The conversation ended but I think they both might have had good points.