New to Wine Making - Problems with Fruit Wines

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sconnie

Junior
Reaction score
I'm new to wine making and this is my first post! I have made several batches in the past couple of years; I have had great luck with two of the 6 gal kit wine batches I have made with delicious results!

However, I have tried my luck with batches from scratch using local fruits (strawberry, concord grape, cranberry, and) and the results are less than stellar (ie. revolting!). From what I can tell from other posts, I am coming up with somewhere between a rubbery & nail polish (ethyl acetate) smell with a terrible tasting end result. I have taken great care to follow successful recipes and follow sanitation procedures with great care. I am using 3-piece airlocks and always keeping the carboys topped up. I am not sure where I am going wrong and I am starting to get discouraged with the fruit wines.

Possible areas where I think I might be going wrong are:
-Using city water
-Varying temps in wine room (50's in winter, 80's+ in summer)
-Every batch ferments to very dry (.990)
-Using sanitizing solution in airlock (not vodka or other OH)

Any comments or suggestions would be appreciated!

Hi sconnie, welcome to winemaking talk. can you post up your recipe and your procedures? This will help us in helping you on figuring what went wrong with your wines.

I have been using recipe's from the "Winemaker's Recipe Handbook" booklet. Here is the strawberry for example:

6 gallon batch
-21# fruit
-42 pints H20
-12# sugar
-6t acid blend
-1.5t tannin
-3t enzyme
-6t nutrient
-6 campden, crushed
-1 packet Cuvee yeast

SG at pitch - 1.090
1 month later at rack #2 - SG - 0.990