New to the hobby- what’s going on with my wine ?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chefbry68

Junior
Reaction score
Hello All!
I’ve just begun making my own fruit wines (strawberry and blueberry). I’m trying to follow the dragon blood recipe. This is my first time ever. I started with a SG of 1.044 (perhaps a little low of a starting point ) I learned this after a few days into the first ferment on how to actually read a hydrometer. My must seemed to be doing what it’s supposed to do, I’ve been stirring daily , squeezing the bag , taking temps and sg levels. About a week later I’m now below 1.000 on the sg. I wondering how do I stop it from going lower so I can start the clearing and finishing the fermentation. It’s dropping like .004 to .006 points per day....will that taper off eventually ? What’s too low sg? Can I shock the yeast from going lower ?....I’m afraid it won’t stop going lower and lower ...am I on track for success?

Don't fret! Things are fine.

As a home winemaker, you cannot really stop a fermentation. You should let it go to completion.

It will stop by itself shortly, because the yeast will run out of food. The final SG will be somewhere between roughly 0.990 and 0.997, say. In your case, I predict something in the 0.994 range.

The wine will be dry at this point. If you want your wine to be sweeter, you must "stabilize" it by adding potassium sorbate and potassium metabisulfite (known as "k-meta" around here). Then you can add sugar.

Congratulations, you are making wine!

Well, to complicate your life a little, would you prefer more alcohol or to get it over, and done with, asap? How many gallons of wine are you making?

1.044 will give about 6% alcohol.

Hi there Richard C!
I would like to have around 10%ABV , these are both 3 gallon batches , I’m not in a rush...any pointers ?