New To MLF Test Advice

Discussion in 'Yeast, Additives & Wine Making Science' started by Mac60, Oct 11, 2017.

1. Mac60

Mac60 Member

I have been making wine for about 10 years and this year I finally decided to get on the path to better consistent wine making, Hence MLF testing.
    I have attached my first MLF test this is 2 weeks since racking of the gross lees
    I added Chris Hansen's Malolactic culture vinfiora Oenos right after racking off the gross lees that was 2 weeks ago. Looks like I have a way to go.
    The Zin is in 60 gallon VC Stainless Tank and the Cab is in a 39 Gallon VC stainless tank with air locks, there does not appear to be anything going on with either of them. Room temp is 70 degrees. I have not added So2 since my initial into the must at crush. What advice can you give me, just wait another 2 weeks and test again? Should I add So2, my guess is to wait for the malic acid not show up on the test.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Oct 11, 2017
  2. stickman

stickman Veteran Winemaker

It looks like ML is moving along, don't add sulfite yet, I would say you are correct with testing again in 2 weeks.

3. Johnd

Johnd Middle Aged Member Supporting Member

The occasional stirring may help move it along. Once you get a clear test, give it two more weeks before sulfiting.

Boatboy24 likes this.
  4. Mac60

Mac60 Member

Thanks Stickman & Johnd, I really appreciate your feedback.

Johnd likes this.
  5. Mac60

Mac60 Member

4 weeks into MLF another test shows the Cab is just about completed but the Zin doesn't look like its moved in 2 weeks any thoughts or suggestions, let it go another 2 weeks? and test again, Room temp is 70, I have stirred one per week, PH is 3.65 no sulfate since initial dose before primary AF

Attached Files:

6. Johnd

Johnd Middle Aged Member Supporting Member