New Here

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Prvtdobyn30

Junior
Reaction score
My name is Brendan. I just am finishing off my last 2 bottles of a Fresh Apple Spiced Wine. Working on making the next batch.
I ended up with 2 half gallons of frozen watermelon juice, nearly 6lbs of frozen strawberries, and 4lbs of peaches. Would a combination of those work well for a wine? I have a new fast ferment kit i want to try with it.

Welcome to WMT, Brendan!

I am no expert, but I think those would go together well. However, be careful with watermelon juice. For reasons unknown to me, LOTS of people have reported spoiled batches of watermelon wine. Perhaps someone more knowledgable will chime in, or you can use the search function to see what I mean.

Welcome to wine making talk.

Watermelon has a pH close to 7.00-000 and a little TA. You should look at it as a filler/ water in a recipe as much as anything. Acid will be essential. What you are looking at making could be an alcoholic punch if you target third, third, third. If the rate is pushed stronger toward one fruit that could dominate. Watermelon is one of the wines which does best at low temps as 50-55F.

A lot of a portable winery (food truck) will revolve around the local liquor laws. Some laws are antique as when I lived in the Heights alcohol was not legal (per local charter from prohibition days), but a mile in any direction one could legally posses some. @hounddawg is in another dry area. The first step if you go that direction is to get the proper license for any municipality you do business in.
Good luck with the venture.

Welcome to wine making talk.