New from Rhode Island and questions

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dspirito

Junior
Reaction score
Hello. My name is Dave, I'm 28, and I'm a Web developer from Rhode Island. I'm a new winemaker and am completely hooked! I enjoy all types of wine but have developed into narrowing down my favorites to a handful of reds including cabernet sauvignon, franc, grenache, syrah, and zinfandel. OK, maybe I didn't narrow it down too much.

My love of wine really started while vacationing to Vermont where we often visited Boyden Valley in Cambridge. It's a picturesque vineyard and they make some excellent wine. My family vacations in Vermont every year and we always we stop by, often a few times in the week we're up there. I should also mention I'm of Italian descent so I'm sure that had a hand in the wine passion ;)

I started making wine last year with help from my neighbor Luke who has quite a few medals and has been making wine for over 20 years. I showed interest and he was happy to show me the ropes and also bring my wife and I to some American Wine Society gatherings. Luke's wine is some of the best I've had, and he quite often blends a handful of varietals into pure perfection.

I first started with a pinot gris kit and we added some chardonnay and lightly oaked it. It turned out great and everyone was looking for more so I knew what I had to do! I bought a second kit, Brunello (sangiovese grape) and with Lukes guidance have had that going for a few months. As Luke said, I need to build up an inventory, and I had been wanting get some fresh juice for awhile so now I'm on to Chilean carmenere and viognier. 6 gallons of each from Mosti Mondiale. It's about done fermenting and I wanted to join in here and get active in the community and because like most new winemakers I have questions!