Mycoderma? My first try with grapes and not a kit.

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

David Violante

Supporting Members
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, this is my first try at winemaking with actual grapes and not a kit, and I have a question about what may be going on in the carboy. It is a concord recipe from ECKraus using local grapes from an established vineyard that I started in October 2019.

The initial SG was 1.116, pH 5.8, TA .5 before fermenting. It went through a pretty good fermentation although I had some fruit flies towards the end and on advice stopped the fermentation after about 6 days with Campden tablets in fear of acetobacter. Then the SG was 1.035, pH 5.4 TA 6.75. After several re-attempts to restart fermentation over a month or so, I finally just ended up racking it, and using nitrogen gas in the head space of the carboy.

Two months later, the SG was 1.030, pH 2.7, TA 9.75. Yikes! On advice I added 40g of potassium carbonate which brought the pH to 4.5 and the TA to 4.5. Being too alkaline I added 57g of tartaric acid. Yep. Yo-yo. It's now pH 3.8 and TA 6.75.

So... It has been racked several times and I've used nitrogen each time in the head space. In the last two rackings, there are tiny white pearls present on the surface and that stick to the sides of the carboy. I can still see a fine sediment coating the bottom. It doesn't smell bad, but it does taste a bit tart and, how do I say this, a bit mineral-ish. Being a concord, I figured it just has a ways to go. It doesn't taste bad at all, just a smidge metallic maybe.