My first Strawberry Wine w/a question....

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
@porkchopmessiah
To help a friend understand tasting,i used black coffee, black tee, and green tea. These are flavors he thought he knew but after smelling sipping and swirling, the flavors to look for and mouth feel made more sense to him. Tea worked to explain dryness as well especially after sweetening each just a touch. Not enough to call it sweet but enough to bring the flavors together. A touch of sugar reallly balances the dryness of a strong black tea

Will throw another suggestion your way.

I have been making strawberry wine for many years in a Rosé style that is dry, quite thin but a family favourite. The smell is like strawberry lollies and when chilled to white wine temperature, on a nice summers day a bottle goes down extremely well.

Pictures are of this years 10litres and a bottle from last year.

The secret to it's success is time and cold stabilisation. 9 months minimum from start to bottling.

Attachments

• 730D410C-ECEF-4238-8469-5398F34FF2CF.jpeg
    730D410C-ECEF-4238-8469-5398F34FF2CF.jpeg
    723.8 KB · Views: 20
  • 6024B20D-32E1-4D2C-AE0A-A96D3ACC2EEC.jpeg
    6024B20D-32E1-4D2C-AE0A-A96D3ACC2EEC.jpeg
    1.1 MB · Views: 20
20180808_170306.jpg 20180919_201940.jpg So I just got my Mini jet filter today from amazon...was pretty ez to use..i went straight to the second filter since i had racked once already..
Added the sorbate and k meta and will let that sit 2 days before back sweetening juice sweated juice.
My ABV is currently at 12.5 did some taste testing and should be around 11 after adding the clear juice..
Just waiting to get my pH meter from Amazon to double check my pH...I dont trust my titration skills or the pH paper...got conflicting results..