WineXpert Montepulciano Selection International

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nickallen

Reaction score
This is my first time making wine. And the only real questions i have are these. How long should I age this wine? Should I age it in a Carboy or bottles? Any info would be helpful.

I would follow the directions since this is your first kit. Just don't rush it into the bottle too fast unless it is clear and free of ALL sediment. Let it bulk age in the carboy a month or so just to make sure its perfectly clear.

ibglowin said:
I would follow the directions since this is your first kit. Just don't rush it into the bottle too fast unless it is clear and free of ALL sediment. Let it bulk age in the carboy a month or so just to make sure its perfectly clear.

Thanks for the input. What is the Max time I can age in bottles on wine coming from a kit

Thanks for the input. What is the Max time I can age in bottles on wine coming from a kit

Welcome to the forum.

Depends on the particular kit. Most kit documentation will tell you this. Sometimes one has to contact the manufacturer and ask specifically.

Inexpensive kits tend to last less time than the more expensive premium kits. Wines like the summer (mist) wines should be bottled within the first 4 months and drank within another 18 months.

The quality of the cork will make a difference as will the sanitation methods one uses when making the wine.

I make only the premium kits. I don't usually even bottle me kit wines before about 16 months. I trust the wine will last in the bottle easily another 2 to 3 years.

One rule of thumb I have heard is: