Miserable PH Meters

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AXIOM

Junior
Reaction score
When I was a wine newbie (many moons ago), I relied upon simple PH strips for PH testing..... Back in those days, digital PH meters were difficult to come by without spending a fortune on them.... But as prices began to drop and smaller meters were being produced, I finally started using the small digital meters....

I was loving the things due to their accuracy and simplicity of use (or so I thought LOL) ... Yep, you guessed it, over time the accuracy of my first digital meter got way off... When I say way off, I literally am talking about 2 points on the PH scale..... At the time though, I did not know this was occurring.... However, I noticed that my wines were all beginning to become very acidic and tart..... Of course, this was entirely due to myself adding too much acid because of the faulty reading of my PH meter... Needless to say, I had quite a few large batches of wine that became over acidic until I finally figured out that my Meter was to blame.... I have since purchased better quality meters...