WineXpert Mezza Luna Red, First Kit, Bulk Aging, HighTemps

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TimeZone

Junior
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a newbie and this is my first kit and attempt at making wine. Started the kit back on July 10th. Live in east Texas and it stays pretty hot here. Keep the room set at about 75, but it might get a few degrees hotter at times.

During the primary fermentation, I think the temp of the must got to about 79 - 80 when it was really at its peak, and probably about 76 later in the fermentation. I checked it on about the 6th day and it was already down to SG of 1.002. I probably could have moved to the next step a day or two earlier really I guess based on that. I wonder about the oak flavoring though, and if you should leave it 7 days or so to get all of that flavor into the must even if you SG has really dropped? Guess 6 is probably fine.

I was concerned about the high temps at first, but an article from Winemaker magazine made me feel better about the temp, and so did watching George's video where he said his temp was usually 75 or a little higher.