Malolactic finished, pH is way off

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi,

I have been part of a wine club that has made wine for many years, this is my first year being the person handling everything. We are making the same blend that we have for several years. 1/3 Cab, 1/3 Merlot, and 1/3 Petite Sirah. All the crushes and presses went fine. I checked the TA and pH of the must before starting the primary fermentations, everything was in a good range. We pressed and then blended. The wine has been going through malolactic the last 3 weeks. The CO2 production has slowed down, so I ran a chromatography test last night. It showed no malic acid and lots of lactic acid, so I think that is done. Tonight I checked the pH and TA to get ready for adding SO2 and racking. TA was 6.4, which seems a little low, but the pH seems way too high at 4.25. The wine also tastes flat. I tasted each variety at pressing, and the acidity seemed about right then on all of them. What do I do now? Is the solution adding tartaric acid to bring the pH down or is there something else I should be doing? Thanks!

What was the pH before ferm & mlf? My Cab went from 3.5 to 3.9, which is a pretty big jump. Do bench trials, but be very careful. You can add very little tartaric in finished wine and make it undrinkable.

I agree with @NorCal, you're in a tricky spot with the chemistry. You really need to verify those numbers and be sure they are accurate. To me, the TA actually seems a little high for such a high pH. Wine after ML can be nearly saturated with CO2 which can add 2g/l to the TA titration, so be certain to degas the sample before TA testing.

The pH values at crush were 3.6, 3.7 & 3.9 for the 3 varieties. I didn't measure them at press, good learning for next year. I just did taste tests then and I thought everything was great.