Large-scale Winemaking Operation: Need Advice

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Delaney

Reaction score
I'm currently studying in Agricultural Sciences, and I'm doing a comprehensive business proposal to initiate a viniculture operation, more specifically on Manitoulin Island, Lake Huron, Ontario, Canada. I would like some advice regarding what type of system to suggest. Being an avid brewer and novice winemaker, I am familiar with the principles of fermentation, but have no experience regarding large-scale production.

Because there is no established viniculture on the island, I will be diversifying the cultivar selection in order to minimize the risk of crop failure, and will therefore require several fermentation chambers. I'm hoping that some of you will have suggestions regarding designs for small - medium sized processing systems.

everything from A-Z has to be covered...Most important factors are cost, capacity, and durability.

-de-stemming of grapes (manual/mechanical?)
-Washing of grapes (necessary?)
-Crushing of grapes (what equipment to use?)
-fermentation chambers (stainless steel conical fermentors?) what brand? sizes? costs?
-De-gassing (how to degass? vacuum system?)
-Yeast starter (How to produce starters for large-scale operations such as this?)
-bulk aging (what is the most cost effective way of achieving this?)
-bottling systems (don't know where to begin here)...
-Transferring system (how to rack from fermentation chamber to secondary?)
-What kind of Quality Control should be implemented?
-pH control?
-How to deal with tartaric crystal with large-scale operations?

Anything I am missing here??? I know this is a lot to tackle, I'm just hoping to be led in a good direction.

Thanks Kindly,

Delaney Bray-Stone.

Last edited:
See my comments....