Ist Time for Mead

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dugger

Reaction score
I tried to post this in the sticky article on Joe's ancient orange mead in the recipe section but it didn't work - maybe sticky's don't post?

My nephew will be harvesting honey soon and has suggested we make some mead. I have no experience with this and this recipe seems to be the best way to start.
Two questions:
1. If I were to make a 3 gal batch would I simply triple the recipe? Or would 3 one gal batches be better? I could see the 3 smaller jugs easier to find places to store. Also one could also substitute different fruits in each of the smaller jugs for a variety.
2. I note the comment about a pithy taste - would cutting the orange flesh from the rind and using that eliminate any pithy taste?
Any suggestions are welcomed.
.. Doug

You can do it all at once or separate, it shouldn't matter. Age it when done. It's much better after 1 yr and quite nice after 2. Mead isn't all that different from wine... so you really could pick any of the mead recipes. I've made a few and had no problem.

Debbie

-----%<-----
Two questions:
1. If I were to make a 3 gal batch would I simply triple the recipe? Or would 3 one gal batches be better? I could see the 3 smaller jugs easier to find places to store. Also one could also substitute different fruits in each of the smaller jugs for a variety.
It's entirely up to you, but a 3 gallon jug/carboy/demi-john doesn't usually take up 3 times the space of the 1 gallon equivalent, whereas 3 x 1 gallon jugs/jars/carboy/demi-john will do exactly that.

There's many suggestions of variant's of the JAO recipe, but a lot of the fruit variations just don't work well - the only one I've tried that was Ok, was lemon instead of orange (lime wasn't good).