Is wine gluten free?

Discussion in 'General Wine Making Forum' started by jmar55, Apr 27, 2019.

Wine Making Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk by donating:

  1. Apr 27, 2019 #1

    jmar55

    jmar55

    jmar55

    Junior

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    I am confident that the fruit is gluten free but what about the yeast and other additives?
     
    Ignoble Grape likes this.
  2. Apr 27, 2019 #2

    oppyland

    oppyland

    oppyland

    Supporting Members WMT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    My wife suffers from Celiac and has to be very careful about what she eats and drinks. She has never had any issue with wine. As far as I know, none of the additives I have used contain gluten.
     
    Ignoble Grape likes this.
  3. Apr 28, 2019 #3

    sour_grapes

    sour_grapes

    sour_grapes

    Victim of the Invasion of the Avatar Snatchers

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    9,324
    Likes Received:
    6,821
    You might ask yourself what gluten is. That may reveal the answer to your question.
     
    cmason1957 and Johnd like this.
  4. Apr 28, 2019 #4

    Trevor7

    Trevor7

    Trevor7

    Supporting Members WMT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2017
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    197
    Location:
    I live in a van by the river
    I bought a bottle of Fermax Yeast Nutrient recently that had "Contains Soy and Wheat" under the allergens notice. This could affect those with Celiac.
     
  5. Apr 29, 2019 #5

    BernardSmith

    BernardSmith

    BernardSmith

    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,809
    Likes Received:
    1,019
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Saratoga Springs
    Yeast could be cultured by a lab in a gluten environment (grown in a wort). But any yeast that is listed as "kosher" and especially if listed as "Kosher for Passover" cannot be cultured in such an environment so it would almost certainly need to be gluten free.
     
    Ignoble Grape likes this.
  6. Apr 29, 2019 #6

    balatonwine

    balatonwine

    balatonwine

    The Verecund Vigneron

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    625
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Badacsony wine region. Hungary
    It depends.

    Wine, in of itself, based on pressed juice and fermentation, is of course gluten free. Always.

    But how wine is processed can alter that. As can "regulations" that may define what "gluten free" means for legal and marketing reasons.

    For example, to the FDA, a wine with less than 20 PPM of gluten can be called "gluten free". But some hyper sensitive people can be affected by gluten below that threshold. Thus "labels" are more often a marketing strategy rather than a heath warning. Be aware of that. See, for example:

    https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/is-wine-gluten-free

    To be sure, you have to know, and trust, your winery. All else is just a question mark.
     
  7. Apr 29, 2019 #7

    Rice_Guy

    Rice_Guy

    Rice_Guy

    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    66
    Gluten is a saline soluble protein which is found in wheat and barley, gluten is not found in other cereal grains as corn and rice. By itself gluten is not very soluble in water and will tend to precipitate in alcoholic solutions (create a haze at low level)
    It is unlikely that gluten exists in any chemical based ingredients. It is unlikely that gluten would contaminate the organics as tannin or sugar or chitosan.
    Yeast can be cultured in a completely synthetic system. The end fermentation for wine yeast normally does not involve wheat or barley (beer ingredients) but suppliers as red star also produce beer yeast. Conclusion: the tech line of the specific yeast brand would be the only place to ask this question.
    If you look at a yeast specification, it will list normal maximum contaminant level,,, which is bacteria
     
  8. Apr 30, 2019 #8

    Ignoble Grape

    Ignoble Grape

    Ignoble Grape

    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    34
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Central Coast, CA
    Interesting link. I have celiac. It's one of the reasons I've gotten into wine. I've never heard of fining with gluten - and my other hobby is antique cookbooks, so I've read a ton of off-the-wall winemaking recipes. Does anyone do this? It just seems like there are better alternatives.

    Also interesting about sealing wine barrels with wheat paste. Now I'm going to ask all the local wineries that question...
     

Share This Page